Danni and Charlie do craft

Two ladies and a whole lotta wool

Fair Isle Knitting Course at Loop London

I am a huge advocate of craft courses. Although they are sometimes expensive, I will still save or ask for them as Christmas or birthday presents.

I think this is especially important if you teach yourself from books; in my experience, it was vital for knitting. I had to “un-teach” myself two habits that were both making a difference to the finished product: I was mixing styles and twisting my stitches. Yikes!

This Christmas I asked for a knitting course from Loop in Islington and the lovely Canadian I co-habit with obliged. I was booked onto the Fair Ilse course in February and March of this year.

First, and likely most importantly, you get tea and biscuits included and the courses are also run by amazingly talented ladies. Secondly, on each of the courses I’ve found out I’ve taught myself a bad-knitting-habbit – first time round my weird kak-handed style and this time turns out I’d been doing my knit stitches all wrong.

Fair Ilse works off patterns that are very similar to embroidery patterns. We learnt that colour combinations are really important, and it’s usually a good idea to do a test patch to see if the colours knit up well or use a colour combination suggested in a book.

Fair Ilse requires mastering of the continental knitting style and we used the long tail cast on. You’ll need to hold the two colours – one in each hand – and, once the continental style is mastered, Fair Ilse can be achieved at quite a pace.

20120403-224250.jpg

20120403-224320.jpg

I really love the style and, even though it’s just a test piece, I am happy with the final outcome from this course. Hope you like it too!

– Charlie

About thisischarlie

I'm Charlie Parker, one half of the craft duo Danni and Charlie do craft. I love crafting in all its guises, from baking to knitting to growing vegetables (which most definitely IS a craft). I am all about local - local wool, local shops, local communities. I am a novice drawer and doodler, my plan is to be better and do my own illustration zine and then hit the road with my wool and bearded Canadian. These are my dreams. Thank you for visiting my blogs.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 03/04/2012 by in Uncategorized.
