Danni and Charlie do craft

Two ladies and a whole lotta wool

The easy knitted hat that everyone wants

Today I finished my second ever knitted hat! Knitted with one ball of beautiful Orkney Angora 50/50 DK yarn, which comes in a variety of beautiful colours.

I knit this hat on a small 4mm UK circular needles, starting off in rib and then working in knit in the round to produce stockinette. Decrease at the end and a simple finish by effectively tying the final stitches together. Pattern Peony by Vala, purchased in K1 yarns in Edinburgh.

So me and the Canadian now have matching hats, the crafty equivalent of wax jackets and Sunday walks with the dog.

20120415-230536.jpg

20120415-230544.jpg

20120415-230549.jpg
I have one more to make, a request from my mum; she feels the cold and this lovely wool is super cosy:

20120415-230739.jpg

I reckon each hat has taken me around 10 hours of knitting, this is because I’m quite slow with rib (hoping to pick up the pace with this final hat though).

Each ball of wool came in at just under £10 and I personally think it’s worth it for the quality of the hat in the end. That and it’s SO freaking soft!

– Charlie

About thisischarlie

I'm Charlie Parker, one half of the craft duo Danni and Charlie do craft. I love crafting in all its guises, from baking to knitting to growing vegetables (which most definitely IS a craft). I am all about local - local wool, local shops, local communities. I am a novice drawer and doodler, my plan is to be better and do my own illustration zine and then hit the road with my wool and bearded Canadian. These are my dreams. Thank you for visiting my blogs.

One comment on “The easy knitted hat that everyone wants

  1. Pingback: Adapting an old favourite – knitted angora beanie hat strikes again | Danni and Charlie do craft

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 15/04/2012 by in Knitting, knitting patterns and tagged , .
