Danni and Charlie do craft

Two ladies and a whole lotta wool

Weaving in London

It was whilst I was travelling in southeast Asia that I first fell in love with weaving – I even got sunstroke in Laos biking around the countryside looking for a weaving village! I think it’s a combination of the quality of fabric that comes out, those amazing geometric patterns and also the myriad of ways people use their cloth there that makes me love it so! Either way, I’m hooked and I was really hoping to go on a weaving course when the fates conspired and I missed my chance 😦 So you can imagine how happy I was to find a weaving studio, right here in London! It’s called The Handweavers Studio (http://www.handweavers.co.uk) and it’s not far from Finsbury Park tube station. It has everything: books, natural fibres, natural dyes – you could do the whole project by hand if you fancy. I’m yet to save my pennies for a course so for the mean time I’m having a go on a kids hand loom – I’ll let you know how it goes. For the mean time here’s a picture of one of my favourite woven cloths from southeast asia:

20120416-185741.jpg

This is a Cambodian krama. I love these because they’re used for soooooo many things! From carrying babies to bathing, from a sling to scarf, and they’re a huge part of Cambodian national identity – you just have to love a place that values the importance of textiles!!!

– Danni

About hedanni (Danni Haughan)

Hey! I'm the Danni half of the craft blog Danni and Charlie Do Craft. Maker, knitter, traveller who loves a good story & keeping it natural. I have one foot in Europe and the other in E Asia. 我会说一点汉语

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 16/04/2012 by in Shops, Weaving and tagged , , , , , .
