Danni and Charlie do craft

Two ladies and a whole lotta wool

Fabric covered button ring

I am now the proud wearer of a fabric button ring made by own fair hand:

20120421-233258.jpg

I was inspired by Raye McKown’s page in one my fave books, State of Craft, in which she explains how to make them yourself. I love buttons, and I love using buttons when I make jewellery, so I cannot believe I have only just discovered that you can make your own fabric covered buttons! I’m finding uses for them on everything – rings, brooches and earrings. I just love the fact that you can choose your own fabric – and you can recycle old, tatty clothes as you just need a small patch.

If you want to make them yourself just pop down to your local fabric shop/craft shop/haberdashery and ask for self-cover buttons, they’re so easy to use! (for rings etc make sure you remove the metal hoop at the back using pliers so that they lie flat).

Happy crafting!

– Danni

About hedanni (Danni Haughan)

Hey! I'm the Danni half of the craft blog Danni and Charlie Do Craft. Maker, knitter, traveller who loves a good story & keeping it natural. I have one foot in Europe and the other in E Asia. 我会说一点汉语

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 21/04/2012 by in jewellery and tagged , , .
