Danni and Charlie do craft

Two ladies and a whole lotta wool

Origami lily

Today I am attempting some new origami patterns for flowers. When I was young we had Japanese students staying with us, and as such I learnt a bit of origami as a child. The crane is the only one I remember by heart as an adult.

Today I have tried a daisy pattern and a lily pattern. Both have required assistance from the boyfriend; as an engineering graduate sometimes these things make sense to him before they make sense to me!

So here’s a few pictures of the finished lily:

20120520-153948.jpg

20120520-153955.jpg

20120520-154004.jpg

20120520-154023.jpg

20120520-154029.jpg

What is probably clear from the pictures is that accuracy in the folding is of utmost importance, otherwise you end up with inconsistencies and with the underside showing.

This flower would make a beautiful hair slide, but I need to try again using a smaller square of paper for that kind of thing. I am going to attempt varnishing them to see if this will preserve the paper better. The daisy would also make a beautiful brooch.

I will still continue doing cranes, I have some beautiful origami paper purchased in Tokyo. I recently made a friend a first year wedding anniversary present using it, I was really pleased with the outcome:

20120520-155248.jpg

– Charlie

About thisischarlie

I'm Charlie Parker, one half of the craft duo Danni and Charlie do craft. I love crafting in all its guises, from baking to knitting to growing vegetables (which most definitely IS a craft). I am all about local - local wool, local shops, local communities. I am a novice drawer and doodler, my plan is to be better and do my own illustration zine and then hit the road with my wool and bearded Canadian. These are my dreams. Thank you for visiting my blogs.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 20/05/2012 by in origami, paper craft and tagged , , , , .
