Danni and Charlie do craft

Two ladies and a whole lotta wool

Beautiful embroidery

Every now and then I have to close some of the  many, many tabs I collect in my browser. Usually, this turns up a number of delightful things that I’ve been saving, and quite often they are to do with craft. Thus, a blog post is born. This particular time it’s a bit of love for  embroidery, so here’s a little run down of some amazing embroidery I’ve been admiring.

Severus Insirauskayte takes embroidery to new frontiers by combining a drill with various household items, and applying embroidery to awesome effect:

Awesome sculptural embroidery from Lindsay Taylor:

Visit Lindsay Taylor’s website for more examples of her incredible work http://www.lindsay-taylor.co.uk/

Amazing spider’s silk woven and embroidered shawl that was on display at the V&A. Quote from Guardian article: “The silk was extracted in Godley’s workshops and woven by Peers’ team of handloom weavers, but since it took eight years to produce and weave enough silk for a two-metre shawl and a richly embroidered cape.”

Read more about this incredible cape on the V&A’s website http://www.vam.ac.uk/content/articles/g/golden-spider-silk/

Intricate work from Hawthorne and Heaney:

Check the Hawthorne and Heaney website for more amazing and high fashion embroidery examples: http://www.hawthorneandheaney.com/

And I had to add a little vintage embroidery example in here too because it reminds me of the cushions my nan used to have, that she embroidered herself:

Image sources from http://thelongthread.com

And, when I was looking for a vintage embroidery image I stumbled across this and thought it would make an awesome project – I love buttons and I have an embroidery hoop. It’s meant to be:

Once my first knitting project of the season is all finished (just a pompom to add and it’s complete) I’m picking up the embroidery. I have a old OXO tin full of my nan’s old embroidery silks and I can’t wait to see how they look when they’re stitched up.

– Charlie

About thisischarlie

I'm Charlie Parker, one half of the craft duo Danni and Charlie do craft. I love crafting in all its guises, from baking to knitting to growing vegetables (which most definitely IS a craft). I am all about local - local wool, local shops, local communities. I am a novice drawer and doodler, my plan is to be better and do my own illustration zine and then hit the road with my wool and bearded Canadian. These are my dreams. Thank you for visiting my blogs.

3 comments on “Beautiful embroidery

  1. Michelle M Ruiz
    05/11/2012

    I just added your web page to my bookmarks. I enjoy reading your posts. Thank you!

  2. cjpinlondon
    07/11/2012

    Thanks Michelle! It’s great to know that people enjoy reading about our craft exploits 🙂

  3. Pingback: Craft couture embroidery – Hawthorne and Heaney | Danni and Charlie do craft

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 23/10/2012 by in embroidery and tagged , , , .
