Danni and Charlie do craft

Two ladies and a whole lotta wool

Adapting an old favourite – knitted angora beanie hat strikes again

So, first knitting project of the “season” is done. I’ve completed a hat for my friend Fazz, knitted with beautiful Orkney Angora which I purchased from Tangled Yarn (love that site).

A couple of twists on the pattern from before; first one was Fazz wanted two colours, so this version is striped, second one was the addition of a pom pom (again, on request of the client), and third I made the overall hat slightly shorter. This last one I opted to do as the wool stretches, and I felt the design could loose a couple of cms. This was also after feedback from others who I’d knitted these hats for.

Here is the hat in pictures:

Beautiful Orkney Angora wool in Blue and Scarlet

Getting started with the stripes

Taking shape and really happy with how the rib is looking

View from above.

Taking shape.

A stripy, angora tower.

The finished product modelled by the maker.

Just so you can appreciate the pom pom.

Really happy with how this slightly adapted pattern worked out, and I personally love the pom pom (though it might not be to everyone’s taste). It is super fun making a pom pom – will do a how to post on that soon.

– Charlie

About thisischarlie

I'm Charlie Parker, one half of the craft duo Danni and Charlie do craft. I love crafting in all its guises, from baking to knitting to growing vegetables (which most definitely IS a craft). I am all about local - local wool, local shops, local communities. I am a novice drawer and doodler, my plan is to be better and do my own illustration zine and then hit the road with my wool and bearded Canadian. These are my dreams. Thank you for visiting my blogs.

4 comments on “Adapting an old favourite – knitted angora beanie hat strikes again

  1. Verónica
    30/10/2012

    Like the color combination.

  2. cjpinlondon
    02/11/2012

    Thanks Verónica! I think it came out really well. The colour choice was the client’s though, so I can’t take full credit 🙂

  3. Syno Snail
    05/11/2012

    Great blog, I’m pretty jealous tbh!!

  4. Pingback: Owls, owls, owls…an owl I’ve knitted using a Donna Wilson pattern | Danni and Charlie do craft

Leave a Reply

