Danni and Charlie do craft

Two ladies and a whole lotta wool

Freestyle embroidery – my first attempt at embroidery

I’m on a craft roll. That does sound like it should be a delightful dessert, however it’s simply referring to my recent desire to keep on crafting.

Today I’ve had a go at embroidery. It’s not actually my first ever attempt, but it’s the first one this year – so the title of this blog still stands.

I like birds. I don’t mind admitting it, and I’ve had a go a drawing some with reasonable results. So, given I wasn’t cross-stitching but was free-styling (also known as: drawing design to be embroidered straight on the fabric) I decided to try and embroider a sketch of a bird.

Now, much of the success of this is going to land on the quality of the original drawing. But there is also something to be said for techniques – I was struggling in my inexperience to do shading, some detail and also filling in. So some of these things look a little messy.

Here is the progress so far:

20121101-002059.jpg

20121101-002126.jpg

I want to add some other detail around the bird; maybe some writing or possibly some beading, I’m not sure yet. Will post any further pictures if I work on it further.

I think the next course I’ll do will be an embroidery one; I need to learn me some skills in this I reckon.

– Charlie

About thisischarlie

I'm Charlie Parker, one half of the craft duo Danni and Charlie do craft. I love crafting in all its guises, from baking to knitting to growing vegetables (which most definitely IS a craft). I am all about local - local wool, local shops, local communities. I am a novice drawer and doodler, my plan is to be better and do my own illustration zine and then hit the road with my wool and bearded Canadian. These are my dreams. Thank you for visiting my blogs.

One comment on “Freestyle embroidery – my first attempt at embroidery

  1. Pingback: Craft couture embroidery – Hawthorne and Heaney | Danni and Charlie do craft

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 01/11/2012 by in embroidery and tagged , , , , .
