Danni and Charlie do craft

Two ladies and a whole lotta wool

New Year, New Crafts

Happy New Year! I hope everyone is as excited about 2013 as I am. I’ve made lots of craft based resolutions, mostly focused on finishing certain items (the green shrug that won’t end) and learning new skills (M1L, M1R, what goes on?!)

But before I begin on my new projects, I want to reminisce about those that I actually succeeded in finishing. So first up here is the cowl I knitted for my boyfriend’s mum (no pressure!)

Image

I used Debbie Bliss Paloma yarn (such a gorgeous, soft wool!) and knitted it in seed stitch (K1, P1). I think this is my favourite knit of 2012 as it was my first attempt at seed stitch and I really like how it came out.

My favourite crochet item of 2012 has to be the most recent, and that’s a beret I finished in December.

Image

I used Artesano Aran and followed a basic beret pattern I found online a few years ago. A good basic beret pattern can be adapted to match the yarn and hook size – I’ve made several different versions from this one. I think this hat is my favourite because the wool is so warm. I’m going through a real alpaca phase!

My highlights of 2012 have made me realise that I’m not particularly adventurous, so I’m going to improve my knitting by going on a course or two at Loop. By this time next year I hope to be able to do Fair Isle, and perhaps one of Stephen West’s beautiful shawls (I will definitely need to master M1L/M1R) so watch this space!

– Danni

About hedanni (Danni Haughan)

Hey! I'm the Danni half of the craft blog Danni and Charlie Do Craft. Maker, knitter, traveller who loves a good story & keeping it natural. I have one foot in Europe and the other in E Asia. 我会说一点汉语

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 06/01/2013 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , .
