Danni and Charlie do craft

Two ladies and a whole lotta wool

Chinese Paper Cuts

Xin nian kuai le (新年快乐)! Happy Chinese New Year everyone! I’ve just got back from an afternoon in Chinatown and wow was it busy. There were so many people and so many exciting stalls, I must confess to eating more than my weight in dumplings and steamed buns.

Whilst I was perusing the stalls I was reminded of a lovely Chinese craft that I’m yet to have a go at, and that’s paper cutting, or jian zhi. Some of the creations are so amazingly elaborate, I cannot imagine how long they must take! I bought this one in Chengdu a couple of years ago:

 

Image

 

This is made with tissue paper so it must have been very fiddly, delicate work. I was so impressed and excited about it (I still am) but I remember showing it to a Chinese friend of mine and she was very “meh” about it – as an art student she had had to spend hours learning how to perfect the skill! I don’t think I would mind that, I can imagine it’s very relaxing as it must really focus your mind – just the smallest slip and you ruin the whole thing.

It’s definitely one of the crafts I would like to have a go at this year so watch this space.

– Danni

About hedanni (Danni Haughan)

Hey! I'm the Danni half of the craft blog Danni and Charlie Do Craft. Maker, knitter, traveller who loves a good story & keeping it natural. I have one foot in Europe and the other in E Asia. 我会说一点汉语

2 comments on “Chinese Paper Cuts

  1. cjpinlondon
    10/02/2013

    Ooh! I love this Danni. Would love to have a try – puts me in the mind of cutting templates for screen printing as well.x

  2. Pingback: The paper cuttings of Hans Christian Andersen and my own attempt | Danni and Charlie do craft

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 10/02/2013 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , .
