Danni and Charlie do craft

Two ladies and a whole lotta wool

It’s a crafty owl obsession…

After pointedly bemoaning how the owl thing had been way overdone in craft, the first thing that sprang to mind to do a post on this week was owls. Before I make a load of excuses for any perceived hypocritical thoughts you might be having, I am just going to say this: “I really hate those owl cushions that are just about everywhere right now”. There, I said it.

So this is my crafty love letter to a much-admired bird.

I’ll start with one that I actually own, I got this Matt Pugh owl for Christmas. I’ve coveted this guy before but just couldn’t justify spending over £20 on a little wooden owl, but (even though I eventually got him as a gift) he’s totally treating yourself to:
Matt Pugh's wooden owl
Next up, a favourite illustrator of mine Matt Sewell. I already own this lovely owl by Sewell (scroll down a little bit to find it), but upon a search for a picture of said owl I found this:

20130304-153015.jpg
Which is so many kinds of awesome.

And now to owls of the knitted kind. Turns out katedaviesdesigns.com has got some great knitted owl action going down. First up this super-cute tiny owl, perfect for perching on a windowsill or to keep you company at work:
Little knitted Owl

And then this absolutely AWESOME owl jumper which has stolen the race for which jumper I’m going to attempt first:

Grey owl knitted jumper
Finally, this pattern for a large owl is just grand – perfect project fodder and would make a lovely pressie for an owl-loving friend:

Knitted owl pattern - white owl
And so closes my little indulgence in an owl-ly obsession. I would love to know your thoughts: have crafty owls been overdone? Or are you an owl fan through-and-through, cushions n’all?

– Charlie

About thisischarlie

I'm Charlie Parker, one half of the craft duo Danni and Charlie do craft. I love crafting in all its guises, from baking to knitting to growing vegetables (which most definitely IS a craft). I am all about local - local wool, local shops, local communities. I am a novice drawer and doodler, my plan is to be better and do my own illustration zine and then hit the road with my wool and bearded Canadian. These are my dreams. Thank you for visiting my blogs.

2 comments on “It’s a crafty owl obsession…

  1. Pingback: Owls, owls, owls…an owl I’ve knitted using a Donna Wilson pattern | Danni and Charlie do craft

  2. Pingback: Crafty foxes – Charlie’s top picks for a foxy obsession | Danni and Charlie do craft

Leave a Reply

