Danni and Charlie do craft

Two ladies and a whole lotta wool

A crafty trip to Japan and a look at Nest in Crouch End

Hello everyone! Hope you’ve all had a nice creative week. I’m super hyper and excited at the moment as I just booked my flights to Japan! I’m going back to visit my boyfriend’s family in Tokyo at the end of March so I’ve been having a lot fun looking up all the amazing craft shops I’m going to be visiting (there will be extensive reviews when I get back).

I’ve already looked into buying extra baggage for the flight back as I anticipate that I will be spending a lot of my hard earned pennies on the amazing craft supplies they have there, most notably on washi tape, crochet hooks and craft books (to name but a few).

After trawling the internet for craft guides to Tokyo, and finding more than a few awesome blogs on the subject (see the list at the bottom of this post) I realised I was jealous of all the fun the bloggers must have had putting them together. I just love sharing a new craft find and spreading the bug, and this has inspired me to start sharing my favourite craft shops in and around the UK (with a bit of a London bias, as that is where I’m based).

So first up, one of my all time favourite stores:

Nest

Nest is a really cute wool shop and haberdashery in Crouch End with a lovely layout, really helpful staff and an amazing collection of wool. I am terrible when I come here and end up getting loads as there is so much inspiration! As you can see from the photo above (taken from their lovely website), there is often a test square knitted up for each different wool which is just so helpful as it really helps you visualise how your creation will turn out. My favourite wool purchase recently was the Malabrigo Arroyo. It is just so nice to knit with and, thanks to the way it’s dyed, it makes the most simple projects look fantastic. I’ve been knitting a Stephen West shawl with it and I’m really pleased with the results:

Shawl

They also have a great selection of bamboo knitting needles (my fave, they feel so nice in your hands) and anything you could need for knitting and crochet.

Me and Charlie are hoping to expand on this list over time so please free to share your favourite craft haunts with us, we’ll happily go and check them out.

So before I go, here is the list of amazing craft blogs on Japan/Japanese craft (some are no longer updated, but I love going through the old posts):

–          Felt Café

–          Asking For Trouble

–          Sake Puppets

–          Japan Craft Journal

–          Travel Knitter

–          Hello Sandwich

–          Blackcabbit

A big thanks to these guys for making it easier for people like me to navigate the craft shops of Tokyo.

– Danni

About hedanni (Danni Haughan)

Hey! I'm the Danni half of the craft blog Danni and Charlie Do Craft. Maker, knitter, traveller who loves a good story & keeping it natural. I have one foot in Europe and the other in E Asia. 我会说一点汉语

4 comments on “A crafty trip to Japan and a look at Nest in Crouch End

  1. cjpinlondon
    11/03/2013

    So jealous of your trip to Japan! Also, you must take me to Nest – I need to get me some of those bamboo circular needles you have not least add to my wool collection. It’s a need, not a nice to have.

    Spreading the craft love is like chocolate on toast.

    Quote of the day?x

    • hedanni
      12/03/2013

      More like our mantra from now on! Love it.

      And yes let’s go to Nest, but probably best to wait for payday as there’s too much temptation!

  2. Ang
    19/03/2013

    Thanks Danni! My craft guide is getting a big upgrade soon, so keep an eye out! 😉

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 10/03/2013 by in Craft Blogs, Japan, Japanese Craft, Knitting, Shops and tagged , , , , , , , .
