Danni and Charlie do craft

Two ladies and a whole lotta wool

Our first anniversary – it’s a paper theme

It has recently occurred to Danni and I that we’ve been blogging together for a year – which means it’s our anniversary. Happy anniversary to us!

It just so happens that the next post I had planned fits quite nicely with the theme as it was going to be all about paper. In keeping with the celebration in general, my dad recently turned the ripe old age of 60, and to honour such an occasion I decided to make him a photo scrapbook by my own fair hand.

I (very briefly) looked into the template photo scrapbooks you can order online (oh the shame!) – then it began to offend my handmade, homemade sensibilities and I quickly abandoned in lieu of a trip to Paperchase and a bumper order of digital photo prints. Basically evens out at about the same cost.

And here are the results:

dad scrapbook 1

dad scrapbook 4

dad scrapbook 2

dad scrapbook 3

This was a labour of love and amounted to almost 8 straight hours of gluing, sticking and pithy-comment-writing.

I even made a Vine to document my efforts in video form.

And if someone you know is celebrating a year of something or other, here are some quick, crafty gift ideas of the paper-sort:

Treat someone to a course at the fabulous London Centre for Book arts: http://londonbookarts.eventbrite.co.uk/

Treat someone to a course at the fabulous London Centre for Book arts: http://londonbookarts.eventbrite.co.uk/

Etsy paper flowers

These beautiful paper roses for a loved one, from http://www.etsy.com/shop/Meiorigami on Etsy

Hare paper cut card image

This beautiful hare paper craft from Sunk Island Crafts on Folksy http://folksy.com/shops/jcg1986

Charlie

About thisischarlie

I'm Charlie Parker, one half of the craft duo Danni and Charlie do craft. I love crafting in all its guises, from baking to knitting to growing vegetables (which most definitely IS a craft). I am all about local - local wool, local shops, local communities. I am a novice drawer and doodler, my plan is to be better and do my own illustration zine and then hit the road with my wool and bearded Canadian. These are my dreams. Thank you for visiting my blogs.

One comment on “Our first anniversary – it’s a paper theme

  1. Happy birthday to us!

Leave a Reply

