Danni and Charlie do craft

Two ladies and a whole lotta wool

One knitter’s disappointment, but all was not lost because some seriously cute knitted critters came of it

I’m aware that’s quite a title for this blog post, but I’m going to run with it anyway. The story that goes with it centres around an event I recently attended in Berlin. The 2013 Pictoplasma conference in Berlin this year was for all the arty movers-and-shakers that could reasonably claim that being artists/designers/generally creative people was actually part of their day-to-day work, and thus could excuse the expense of the conference ticket. For those of us who cannot claim thus, there was the Character Walk. And that’s why I found myself in Berlin in April, a couple of weekends ago.

I love Berlin and I’ve been many times before, so this time I planned my trip pretty much entirely around visiting as many exhibitions as possible on the above mentioned Character Walk and one incredibly exciting (and relevant to this blog) happened just before I left. Pictoplasma sent around this Mochi Mochi monster knitting pattern! The trip to Berlin took on a whole new, wonderful, woolly dimension.

I promptly added…

  • Circular knitting needles
  • Wool
  • Stuffing
  • Darning needle

…to my “to pack” list and I was all set for my holiday.

I was pretty convinced that I needed to make this before visiting the artist, Anna Hrachovec’s, exhibition. The first night in Berlin consisted of lots of food, Weisse Beer, pool and early-hours trips to petrol stations for snacks; the next day was the first day of planned Character Walk activity…suffice to say I woke up feeling…amazing! Go figure! So first thing’s first, coffee and knitting. I got started on the monster pattern, in readiness to bring my monster on the first day of character walk:

20130428-234155.jpg

Starting the first leg

20130428-234242.jpg

I had to get creative as I didn’t bring spare needles. Forks absolutely did the trick.

20130428-234316.jpg

Two lil’legs.

20130428-234356.jpg

The body taking shape.

20130428-234413.jpg

Stuff it!

20130428-234438.jpg

I sewed up the hole where his brain is.

20130428-234454.jpg

He’s finished! [Queue: Dr Frankenstein style flash of lightning and crash of thunder]

20130428-234518.jpg

And then we chilled out in the kitchen.

And so, a knitted monster was born. We promptly left for breakfast, joined by our new friend and full of anticipation for his visit to the Character Walk.

20130428-234737.jpg
Post-breakfast, the hangover kicked in good and proper – all previous smugness about feeling awesome, getting up early and knitting was put in stark perspective. Still, to the Character Walk we must go, and with one pit stop for coffee…

20130428-235036.jpg
…we finally made it. Now, somewhere along the way I’d misread the memo/dreamt up a complete falsehood. In my hungover haze, I was convinced that I was bringing my newly made bud to take root in a tree, in a gallery, that would be his new home. What I actually found was, yes, a gallery with the artist’s own, magical, work, a rather serious looking gallery owner…but no such tree. So, my little guy stayed in my bag, feeling a little bit rejected. Really very reckless of me to make such promises.

What I was actually meant to do, was turn up with the materials to Hannah’s Monster Knitting workshop and participate. You can check out my Vine of the workshop here. That’s also where I started the moustached bunny.

But, all this disappointment promptly disappeared when I finally got my brain together to enjoy the exhibition. Here are a few snapshots of the wonderful knitted critters we found there:

20130428-235550.jpg

20130428-235608.jpg

20130428-235643.jpg

20130428-235712.jpg

20130428-235757.jpg

So. Gosh darn. Cute!

I also found this lady has a load more free patterns on her site, including some awesome chicken ones. This has pretty much made my evening.

And, despite my completely misinterpreting the brief with the little guy, we did have lots of fun together in Berlin and I even knitted him a little moustached bunny friend:

20130429-000100.jpg

20130429-000114.jpg

20130429-000144.jpg

20130429-000224.jpg

20130429-105243.jpg
There were a load of other amazing crafty artists on the Character Walk, I’ll try and post a round-up soon.

– Charlie

About thisischarlie

I'm Charlie Parker, one half of the craft duo Danni and Charlie do craft. I love crafting in all its guises, from baking to knitting to growing vegetables (which most definitely IS a craft). I am all about local - local wool, local shops, local communities. I am a novice drawer and doodler, my plan is to be better and do my own illustration zine and then hit the road with my wool and bearded Canadian. These are my dreams. Thank you for visiting my blogs.

7 comments on “One knitter’s disappointment, but all was not lost because some seriously cute knitted critters came of it

  1. Anna
    29/04/2013

    Thank you for visiting my show! I’m really sorry about the confusion with the monster knitting—we had a workshop with them on April 13th at the main Pictoplasma venue, and I would have loved to have seen you there. It’s awesome to see the little guy you made from the pattern, though! I hope his adventures continue…

    • cjpinlondon
      29/04/2013

      Hi Anna! Thank you for visiting our blog. No need to apologise at all; It was entirely my own invention – I went back and read the Facebook post from Pictoplasma and I had made up a whole “pop your monster on a tree in the gallery” part all by myself. Must have been a dream.
      I loved your exhibition and the pattern – and I literally squealed with excitement yesterday when I saw the chicken pattern. That’s my next project. Thank you for all the little knitted things 🙂

  2. lottieknits
    01/05/2013

    How cute? I love your improvised fork stitch holders!

    Because I love your blog, I’ve nominated you for the Liebster Blog award here: http://lottieknits.wordpress.com/2013/05/01/liebster-award/ (don’t feel obliged to take part if you don’t want to for any reason).

    Lottie x

    • Thank you so much! We love your blog too. As soon as Charlie is back in the country (she’s in Paris right now, I am exceptionally jealous!) we’ll get together and answer the questions/write our own

      x

      • lottieknits
        08/05/2013

        Paris? I’m jealous too! There’s absolutely no rush just do it whenever/if you want (I don’t think rules make this sort of thing fun).

        Lottie xx

  3. Pingback: Zinetastic – Danni and Charlie pick some of their favourite zines | Danni and Charlie do craft

  4. Pingback: À tricoter à Paris! Searching for a knitting shop in France’s capital | Danni and Charlie do craft

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 28/04/2013 by in Events, Knitting and tagged , , , , , , , .
