Danni and Charlie do craft

Two ladies and a whole lotta wool

Wool House 2013 at Somerset House

This March 2013, Danni and I visited the most fabulous Wool House exhibition at Somerset House.

A lunchtime well-spent.

A lunchtime well-spent.

I also attended on the last day, and was chuffed to get a place at the Tweed High Tea Party. Unfortunately, my partner isn’t much into tweet (he’s more of a metal-head – it would be a miracle if I got him to wear tweed) so we weren’t both allowed in. I did have a brief wander around the party, but soon got a bit lonely and went and joined my fella so we could look around the exhibition together.

He was a particular fan of this gigantic rug that ran a fair chunk of the main hallway:

IMG_6404

Most pictures I’ve been of this show the full runner, but I wanted to show just how awesome the pixelated patter was. Rug designed by Cristian Zuzunaga”

I really loved these – there were lots of different colour ways, and it was quite hypnotic looking at them:

IMG_6402

These wonderful criss-cross wool sculptures were at one of the entrances to the exhibition. So simple in concept – make me want to go home and make one myself.

IMG_6407

Beautiful, naturally coloured wools.

IMG_6412

Beautiful, red and white, asymmetric scarf at Wool House

IMG_6439

The wonderful notes in the tailoring part of the Wool House exhibtion

IMG_6444

Couldn’t resist using the macro setting here.

IMG_6451

All the woolly stats

IMG_6458

Again with the macro setting

IMG_6463

This is the type of item that I think is synonymous with the nostalgia of crafts – it’s the blanket your nan made that you want to learn how to do.

IMG_6483

Believe it or not – this was wall paper, beautiful, embroidered wallpaper.

IMG_6490

One of the amazing interior designed rooms – all inspired by wool, glorious wool.

IMG_6491

Well, you just can’t go wrong with a flower felted cushion.

IMG_6510

The most quirky and whimsical Donna Wilson, I recently knitted one of her patterns from the Knitted Odd Bunch

IMG_6518

Donna Wilson close up – I just love the wood effect one.

IMG_6521

This was the wall covering in a rather mesmerizing room by Anne Kyyrö Quinn studio

IMG_6534

A close up of this intricate work again by Anne Kyyroquinn studio

IMG_6537

This chair was comedy – looked cosy too

IMG_6546

Doesn’t that just make you feel warm and fuzzy?

IMG_6550

Felt origami – such beautiful work

IMG_6563

And, what better way to end that with this guy

It was a really great exhibition – lots of amazing designers and artists, and great to see the many different ways wool was interpreted and used.

Charlie

About thisischarlie

I'm Charlie Parker, one half of the craft duo Danni and Charlie do craft. I love crafting in all its guises, from baking to knitting to growing vegetables (which most definitely IS a craft). I am all about local - local wool, local shops, local communities. I am a novice drawer and doodler, my plan is to be better and do my own illustration zine and then hit the road with my wool and bearded Canadian. These are my dreams. Thank you for visiting my blogs.

One comment on “Wool House 2013 at Somerset House

  1. kaloskraft
    24/05/2013

    What fun! I always love textile exhibits. The felt origami is pretty awesome!

Leave a Reply

