Danni and Charlie do craft

Two ladies and a whole lotta wool

I’ve finally opened an Etsy shop!

Hello crafters,

I hope everyone is feeling as proud of themselves this Sunday evening as I am, for I have finally opened my Etsy shop! I’m going to be selling my wooden washi tape necklaces, because as I’ve mentioned in the product description, I like to wear the things I love around my neck. Be it gorgeous yarn or gorgeous paper, I’ll find a way. So here’s what they look like:

Circle 1

The process of setting up the shop online actually took longer than I thought. Once I had taken the photos, adjusted the photos, designed the banner, adjusted the size, written the copy and sorted my postal policy, I was pretty tired out. And that was without making anything, as I did most of that last week. Not to mention all the time I spent ummming and ahhhing about the name. I think once I get into the habit of doing it it’ll be quicker, but for now I feel like I’ve earned a rest.

Of course I had a lot of help along the way, both from my poor boyfriend (bless him) but also from The Handmade Marketplace by Kari Chapin.

Handmade marketplace

Whilst some of the content is more useful for crafters in the US, the general tips on getting started, important things to consider and marketing advice was really useful and really inspiring. I read it everyday for two weeks to give myself the push to get going and I’m really pleased I’ve had a go. There are just five things on there for now as I didn’t want to get in over my head, but I’m pleased just to get it off the ground.

My shop is called Ami Made Handmade Ami and you can have a look here. I named it that because in Japanese the character is used in the words for knitting, crochet, weaving etc., just general handmade loveliness really.

Now I’m going to treat myself to some herbal tea, cake and CSI Sunday (a guilty pleasure!)

– Danni

About hedanni (Danni Haughan)

Hey! I'm the Danni half of the craft blog Danni and Charlie Do Craft. Maker, knitter, traveller who loves a good story & keeping it natural. I have one foot in Europe and the other in E Asia. 我会说一点汉语

5 comments on “I’ve finally opened an Etsy shop!

  1. kaloskraft
    02/06/2013

    Congrats on the new Etsy shop! I am in the process of opening a new store myself, so I can empathize with you about how hard it is. Thanks for the tip on the book, I will have to check it out.

  2. travelknitter
    02/06/2013

    Congratulations! I’m sure you’ll have lots of fun with your new shop. Let me know if you want to meet up with other local Etsy sellers as I organise a meetup for that. I’ve actually just reserved that book myself in the library, for a bit of summertime motivational reading.

    • Ooh thank you, I would love to meet up with other Etsy sellers, just let me know when are where and I’ll be 🙂

  3. Pingback: Prima Makes Review and a Handmade Ami Feature | Danni and Charlie do craft

Leave a Reply

