Danni and Charlie do craft

Two ladies and a whole lotta wool

Craft couture embroidery – Hawthorne and Heaney

A little while ago, I wrote about London-based embroidery studio Hawthorne and Heaney on a blog post about beautiful embroidery.

Yesterday I spotted that they had posted this photo album on Facebook stating they were working on a fully embroidered couture ballgown from start to finish. This post was accompanied by some amazing photos of progress so far, as you’ll see in the photo album. Here are a few that document the sheer beauty of what they’re producing:

The detail is incredible – it definitely puts my attempt at some very basic embroidery into perspective! Not that I would expect to be embroidering to this skill level – H&H have over 15 years of experience under their belts – so I’m not being too hard on myself. This is breath-taking stuff though, whoever is the recipient of this dress is one lucky lady.

I’m really excited to watch this project progress. I for one will be following the photos on Facebook and I highly recommend following them yourselves to watch the garment take shape.

You can find out more about Hawthorne and Heaney’s work and check out their portfolio on their website.

Charlie

About thisischarlie

I'm Charlie Parker, one half of the craft duo Danni and Charlie do craft. I love crafting in all its guises, from baking to knitting to growing vegetables (which most definitely IS a craft). I am all about local - local wool, local shops, local communities. I am a novice drawer and doodler, my plan is to be better and do my own illustration zine and then hit the road with my wool and bearded Canadian. These are my dreams. Thank you for visiting my blogs.

2 comments on “Craft couture embroidery – Hawthorne and Heaney

  1. lottieknits
    11/06/2013

    Wow! I think that is probably the most amazing example of embroidery I’ve ever seen. Absolutely gorgeous!

  2. cjpinlondon
    08/07/2013

    @LottieKnits Thanks for your comment! It’s totally beautiful isn’t it? You have to check out the matching embroidered shoes they posted a couple of weeks ago: http://www.facebook.com/hawthorneandheaney/posts/539089446147202

    I am proper jealous of the lady who will be wearing this ensemble. It’s going to be mind-bogglingly good.

Leave a Reply

