Danni and Charlie do craft

Two ladies and a whole lotta wool

Shop Review: Fred Aldous in Manchester

Hello crafters,

I’ve just had a lovely weekend away on a hen party with my friends in the Lake District, so apologies for the lateness of this post! As the first part of my journey involved a stop in Manchester I thought I would write a little more about the joy of Fred Aldous, a shop I briefly mentioned in the My Paper Craft Kit post, but which I think deserves a post all on it’s own.

Fred Aldous is located in the super fun Northern Quarter of Manchester and is  a family run art, craft and design supply shop which has been around for 125 years! The history of the place alone is fantastic (you can have a read here) but the shop itself just can’t be beaten in terms of choice and quality. The supplies are just fantastically curated – they have all the best brands under one roof and they cover a variety of different crafts, from paper crafts to jewellery making,  needle craft to weaving. They stock items that are more difficult to source, such as the Martha Stewart paper punches which I just love at the moment, and they have the biggest variety of washi tape that I have ever seen in a bricks and mortar shop. They also stock the Crafty magazine which I’ve just started reading:

Purchases smaller

What I love about this shop the most is that you can explore new ways to make things – it’s here that I first learnt about decoupage when I was checking out all the beautiful paper they had on offer. I also bought my first lot of paper cutting supplies here, and I’ve used them so much (especially the cutting board) that they now have a special place in my heart. I’ve now got my beady eyes on their batik supplies so watch this space. Just wandering around the shop is so inspiring and the staff are really passionate about what they do. If you are going to Manchester or live there already I strongly recommend a visit, but if not never fear – they have a fantastic website that’s well worth a browse.

– Danni

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

About hedanni (Danni Haughan)

Hey! I'm the Danni half of the craft blog Danni and Charlie Do Craft. Maker, knitter, traveller who loves a good story & keeping it natural. I have one foot in Europe and the other in E Asia. 我会说一点汉语

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 17/06/2013 by in Craft kit, Shops and tagged , , , , , , .
