Danni and Charlie do craft

Two ladies and a whole lotta wool

Basic Crochet Coaster Pattern

Hello crafters,

My boyfriend’s parents came to the UK recently for a visit so I thought I would get my make on! His mother always spoils me rotten with all sorts of awesome gifts from Japan, such as craft books, scarves and lots of tasty snacks, so I like to return the favour with some handmade creations. For this trip it was some crochet coasters to go with a crochet tea cosy I made a while back.

I used the Rowan Handknit Cotton in Burnt, Sea Foam and Ecru. It’s so lovely to work with and just feels amazing. Plus it’s machine washable which is a major plus when making coasters!

Yarn.jpg

The pattern I wrote is very simple and just uses the basic techniques for increasing a circle – it’s perfect for beginners and very rewarding as you have a finished coaster pretty quickly.

I used a 4mm crochet hook.

Pattern

Round 1: With the first colour, ch 5, join end with a ss to make a ringCh 2 (this counts as one dc) then 7 more dc into the ring (8 in total). Join with ss.

Round 2: With the second colour, ch 2 (counts as one dc) then 2 dc into each stitch (16 in total). Join with ss.

Round 3: With third colour, ch 2 then 1 dc into same stitch (counts as 2 dc) then 1 dc into next stitch, repeat 2 dc then 1 dc to end (24 in total). Join with ss.

Round 4: With first colour, ch 2 then 1 dc into same stitch, 1 dc into 2nd stitch then 2 dc into third* repeat to end (32 in total). Join with ss.

Round 5: With second colour, ch 2, then 1 dc into same stitch, 1 dc into 2nd stitch, 1 dc into 3rd stitch then 2 dc into 4th stitch* repeat to end (40 in total). Join with ss and end off.

You can either try to work the ends in as you go, which to be honest I find a bit easier, or you can weave them all in afterwards with a large-eye yarn needle.

I then give them a quick iron to make them nice and flat!

Coaster - small

Abbreviations:

ss = Slip stitch

dc = Double crochet

ch = Chain

This is the first pattern I’ve ever written up so please do let me know if it isn’t clear! Enjoy.

– Danni

About hedanni (Danni Haughan)

Hey! I'm the Danni half of the craft blog Danni and Charlie Do Craft. Maker, knitter, traveller who loves a good story & keeping it natural. I have one foot in Europe and the other in E Asia. 我会说一点汉语

2 comments on “Basic Crochet Coaster Pattern

  1. Pingback: Making an Apartment Hotel Crafty Cosy | Danni and Charlie do craft

  2. Pingback: Quick and Easy Handmade Gifts for Christmas | Danni and Charlie do craft

Leave a Reply

