Danni and Charlie do craft

Two ladies and a whole lotta wool

A little birdie makes his debut – my illustration makes it into Craft Guerrilla’s zine!

This year, I’ve been getting back into drawing, and since purchasing myself a lovely Pentel Brush Pen I have been experimenting using it. One of the drawings I did was this little bird:

IMG_0385

I was really excited when I saw that Craft Guerrilla was looking for illustrations to feature in the spring/summer edition of their craft zine. I promptly got in touch offered them the little bird to use, and I was super happy when they said they were going to put it in. The zine published a couple of weeks ago, and I was sent a free copy of the zine to review – and the little bird was perched on page two. My first illustration featured in a craft zine. Yay! You can buy copies of the Craft Guerrilla zine here.

Since I started working at Penguin Books, I’ve become more and more interested in book illustrations and cover illustrators. I’m a massive fan of Penguin designer Coralie Bickford-Smith, who designed covers for (among many other beautiful book designs) the Penguin clothbound classics. Here are just a few examples of the spine design, click through to her website for the full portfolio:

Coralie Bickford-Smith clothbound classics two

Image from Coralie’s website: http://cb-smith.com/

Coralie Bickford-Smith clothbound classics

Image from Coralie’s website: http://cb-smith.com/

I have also recently purchased art work from illustrator and artist Petra Bornor. I love her style and I’ve always been a massive fan of screenprinting:

Image from Petra Borner's website: petraborner.bigcartel.com

Image from Petra Borner’s website: petraborner.bigcartel.com

Petra is also selling online at the V&A, there is a lovely selection of her work here.

I also follow a number of illustration Tumblrs, here are some I recommend following:

John Martz Tumblr logo

Penguin By Design Tumblr logo

The Mighty Pencil Tumblr blog Kerinjo Tumblr logo

I also keep a record of artists and illusrtators I’ve found and loved over on my artists and illustrators board on Pinterest. So this ends my little illustration love in and I shall continue drawing and taking inspiration from all these amazing artists. Happy weekend crafting everyone!

Charlie

About thisischarlie

I'm Charlie Parker, one half of the craft duo Danni and Charlie do craft. I love crafting in all its guises, from baking to knitting to growing vegetables (which most definitely IS a craft). I am all about local - local wool, local shops, local communities. I am a novice drawer and doodler, my plan is to be better and do my own illustration zine and then hit the road with my wool and bearded Canadian. These are my dreams. Thank you for visiting my blogs.

4 comments on “A little birdie makes his debut – my illustration makes it into Craft Guerrilla’s zine!

  1. lottieknits
    20/07/2013

    Wow! Well done 🙂 your little bird is adorable!

  2. cjpinlondon
    20/07/2013

    @lottieknits thanks! I was really chuffed he made it into the zine. Must do more drawing, it’s therapeutic (much like all craft actually!).

  3. Dan Pomlett
    24/07/2013

    Nice work Charles. I didn’t know you had such elegant illustrative skills.

  4. Pingback: We’ve launched on Etsy and top gifts for crafters this Christmas – from Etsy and Folksy | Danni and Charlie do craft

Leave a Reply

