Danni and Charlie do craft

Two ladies and a whole lotta wool

My Holiday Craft Kit

Hello crafters,

That’s right I’m officially on my hols and I could not be happier – I really needed a break! I’m in Southern Spain for some serious relaxation in the sun. I’ve already eaten a lot of seafood, olives and tapas and I’ve only been here 2 days! I’ve also nearly finished my book – luckily I brought a hefty supply and filled my MP3 player with audiobooks (a major perk of working for Penguin!)

So as I’m on my hols I thought I would theme this blog post on crafty packing, and first up is the amazing peshtemal. This handy towel is handwoven in Turkey and traditionally used in Turkish baths. They are made from high quality cotton and are really nice and soft. They are really light and super quick to dry, which makes them great for travelling. I love them for many reasons, but mostly because they are beautiful and handmade! I purchased mine from Etsy but when I finally make it to Turkey I will definitely stock up.

Peshtemal

Please excuse the creases – I’ve already been using it a fair bit!

The next crafty travel essential I packed was of course a mini sketch book (much like my portable travel scrapbook) and my pens and pencils. I’m always having ideas (good and bad!) and I love to be able to just jot them down on the spot – otherwise I’d forget them. I also like to make little drawings of the things I’ve seen and stick in the odd bits I find (such as leaves and cute labels, I’m a terrible little collector).

Embroidery

Project wise, I decided to pack my embroidery because it’s really portable and I actually haven’t done any for ages! Hopefully my next post will feature some beautiful embroidered masterpiece.

Sketch book

Naturally I also packed a craft book (or two) for some inspiration, but hopefully with all this peace and quiet I’ll be coming up with some ideas of my own.

What sort of crafty items do you pack in your suitcase? I love to hear what people prioritise when they’re off on their travels.

– Danni

About hedanni (Danni Haughan)

Hey! I'm the Danni half of the craft blog Danni and Charlie Do Craft. Maker, knitter, traveller who loves a good story & keeping it natural. I have one foot in Europe and the other in E Asia. 我会说一点汉语

6 comments on “My Holiday Craft Kit

  1. lottieknits
    28/07/2013

    I tend to pack knitting, usually a small uncomplicated project in thin yarn (4ply or lace weight) so that it doesn’t weigh my case down. I always take my sketch book too and take lots of photos of inspiring things; carvings on wooden buildings, stonework, stained glass, patterned and mosaic floors, local crafts and architecture of any kind – anything inspiring really!

    • Ooh yeah I love to go back through holiday photos for some inspiration! Do you ever take your knitting on the plane? I know you’re allowed but I’m always worried they’ll take my beloved needles! I’ve only braved a crochet hook

      • lottieknits
        01/08/2013

        I’ve braved crochet hook as well but I tend to put my knitting in my case – like you I’m worried that my needles will be confiscated, especially as I prefer metal Addi Turbos! Also I’m not very fond of flying so if I’m not feeling too good I would rather sleep 🙂 plus airline food (if you can call it that) and knitting don’t mix!

  2. Verónica
    29/07/2013

    I am pleased to nominate you for the WordPress Family Blog Award. Thanks for being part of my blogging family! Here’s a link for more details: http://agujasblog.com/2013/07/29/i-love-giving-out-blog-awards/

    • Oh wow thank you so much! I really love your blog and have been especially enjoying your posts on Beijing – I used to live in China but didn’t spend that much time there, it makes me want to go back! 🙂

  3. Kerim Omer Caglar
    09/08/2013

    Hey Dannie and Charlie. Great post on Peshtemal’s. We grew up with Peshtemal’s since childhood and now proud that they became widely known in the world. We have recently added a number of new items to our beachwear Peshtemal collection. Do have a look at our range at http://www.turquoiseandolive.com/collections/beachwear .

    Take care

Leave a Reply

