Danni and Charlie do craft

Two ladies and a whole lotta wool

Shop Review: Slanchogled arts & crafts in Camden

Hello crafters,

I was hoping to have lots of new garlands to show you in this post but sadly fate intervened and I’ve been laid low with a neck injury. To be honest, it’s been very frustrating as, due to the nature of the injury, I’ve not really had the use of my right arm. Whilst thankfully I’m left-handed, this has not left a lot of options for being crafty! So I’m going to review a fabulous craft shop instead.

Slanchogled shop resized

Slanchogled is an independent craft shop in Camden that focuses mainly on papercraft and art supplies. “Slanchogled” means “sunflower” in Bulgarian, which is fitting as it’s such a happy place. It’s also really easy to find. Come out of Camden Town tube station and head up Chalk Farm Road (towards Chalk Farm tube station). Go past the market and the stables and keep going. It’s on the right-hand side of the road. You won’t be able to miss it as they always have such a lovely display in the window.

I actually first stumbled across this shop last year when I needed supplies for my Christmas cards (I had a crazy idea that I would hand-make ALL of them. It was a bit ambitious I can tell you!) They stock all the essentials such as blank cards, washi tape, decoupage papers and punches. They also have a great selection of cut outs in card and wood, which are great for giving you lots of different ideas.

The shop is quite big, and opens up to a bigger floor downstairs. There’s a lot of different things in there, so it’s nice to just go and browse for ideas. You can buy traditional art materials such as sketch books, paints and canvases, as well craftier bits such as beads, wire and felt.

Paper purchases

My purchases on this trip were focused on the wrapping of my crafts. I just love it when I buy something from Etsy and it comes beautifully packaged, so I’m having a lot of fun trying out different ways of presenting my goods. I intend to decorate the paper bags with (among other things) the lovely washi tape I bought. I also picked up these cute tags as me and Charlie are hoping to do a craft stall soon – we’ve got our eyes peeled for any vacancies coming up.

Slanchogled also have a great blog which I recently discovered when I was trying to make tissue paper pom poms (check out their tutorial here). As soon as the doctors give me the go-ahead, I’m going to make a whole selection!

– Danni

Follow on Bloglovin

About hedanni (Danni Haughan)

Hey! I'm the Danni half of the craft blog Danni and Charlie Do Craft. Maker, knitter, traveller who loves a good story & keeping it natural. I have one foot in Europe and the other in E Asia. 我会说一点汉语

Leave a Reply

