Danni and Charlie do craft

Two ladies and a whole lotta wool

Crafty Wish List from Japan

Hello crafters,

Apologies for the infrequent posting of late, a lot has been happening behind the scenes over at Danni and Charlie HQ (more on that soon!) It’s nearly my birthday so for my gift, my boyfriend’s mum is bringing me some crafty things from Japan when she visits in October. I am so excited about this for so many reasons! 1) because I can’t get most of these things in the UK at all and 2) even if I can get them, I have to pay import tax/postage handling fees that usually end up costing more than the item I want to buy.

I have been trying to narrow down all the things I want (there are a lot) and here’s what I’ve come up with, what do you think?

Avril Yarn

Avril yarn

I know I go on about this a lot but it really is so nice, and has so many uses! You order by weight so it’s great for small projects. I’ve been using it in bracelets, necklaces, hair ties and journal decorating.

MT Maki Maki

Just look at this cute video for the MT Maki Maki (literally “roll roll”). Does it not really make you want one?! I’m a fan of it because it means I can take small quantities of washi tape around with me for creating on the go. I often meet my friends for crafternoons and a few of my projects involve lots of different washi tapes. This is so handy because you can bring a little of each with you. You just add your normal rolls onto one part and then wind your tapes onto smaller rolls or flat plates. I also really like the tote bag at the end!

The Masking Tape Book

Masking tape book

I’m so excited about this book because it has some really cute projects inside. As I’m sure you’re aware, I just love Japanese craft books and I’ve been struggling to feed my addiction here in the UK – luckily I discovered Hello Again Bookstore on Etsy! (FYI if your order is over Β£15 you’ll have to pay import tax which in itself is not that bad, but the fixed Β£8 handling fee that the post office add on should also be factored in).

I’m obviously throwing some washi tape in there, especially the coharu tape for my little printer – you just cannot buy that here at all. I’m going to include the super cute video for that while I’m on a roll (ha ha roll, see what I did there!):

This printer is so handy for so many things, but especially for customising cards and gifts. I use it for the customised sketchbooks I sell on Handmade Ami.

Literally the best birthday present ever πŸ™‚ What would you buy?

– Danni

About hedanni (Danni Haughan)

Hey! I'm the Danni half of the craft blog Danni and Charlie Do Craft. Maker, knitter, traveller who loves a good story & keeping it natural. I have one foot in Europe and the other in E Asia. ζˆ‘δΌšθ―΄δΈ€η‚Ήζ±‰θ―­

6 comments on “Crafty Wish List from Japan

  1. travelknitter
    11/09/2013

    You definitely need a Maki Maki! I always stock up on little stationery bits when I can – cool sticky notes, little note cards, that sort of thing. I do have a small collection of Japanese craft books, but sadly they’re a bit neglected! Oh, and little plastic containers that I use as a kit for travel knitting πŸ™‚

    • I do that too! The only problem is I forget what I’ve already bought and buy more – though let’s be honest you can never have too many cute stationary bits

  2. lottieknits
    11/09/2013

    Oh, so many exciting crafty bits! I don’t know how I would choose! I can never just spend ten minutes in a craft shop, even if it is mainly dedicated to crafts I don’t do very often – I have always been like this, as my long suffering family can testify. I could look at those sort of things all day 😊

    • Ha ha I’m so the same! I’ve spent hours pulling together my shopping list ad I’ve loved every minute of it πŸ™‚

      • lottieknits
        15/09/2013

        I usually have to be pestered to leave craft shops by whoever I’m with! Maybe it goes back to liking the box more than the present inside it when I was a kid (because the box has so many more possibilities – you can make it into almost anything!) so even now I get inspired by the possibilities of other crafts. I hope you enjoy your crafty items when you get them 😊

  3. Pingback: Fancy Yarn Fun | Danni and Charlie do craft

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 10/09/2013 by in Books, Japan, Japanese Craft, paper craft, Yarn and tagged , , , , , , .
