Danni and Charlie do craft

Two ladies and a whole lotta wool

The Clay Purl – Nashville, Indiana

I have recently returned from a lovely month-long trip to North America. Part of that trip involved a road trip with a stop off (via a tipi) in Nashville, Indiana.

My friend Kris described this town as “Americana” and it certainly was quaint – had an aesthetic not unlike some of the sellers you see at UK festivals. This may sound critical, but it’s not at all – among this quirky high street some gems were to be found. Not only ice cream…
20131013-234106.jpg
…but also an awesome knitting shop hidden in a maze of shops, The Clay Purl was a lucky find:

20131013-234202.jpg
20131013-234222.jpg
There was a huge selection of wool packed into the shop and the lady helped me with questions about the wool and patterns. I always ask if shops have any locally produced wool, and although The Clay Purl didn’t have any stocked at that point, the lady informed me much of the wool had been hand-dyed by her. A really smashing shop:

20131013-234437.jpg
20131013-234456.jpg
20131013-234511.jpg
I was really tempted by a pair of finger-less gloves a local knitter was selling in the shop, but instead opted to buy the wool used, with plans to make them myself.
I could definitely have bought more supplies from here, but unfortunately had to limit myself as I still had a week in Chicago to do and was already precariously close to my weight limit.
I do love finding craft shops in unexpected places, and this was no exception.
Blog post on Chicago craft will follow soon.

– Charlie

About thisischarlie

I'm Charlie Parker, one half of the craft duo Danni and Charlie do craft. I love crafting in all its guises, from baking to knitting to growing vegetables (which most definitely IS a craft). I am all about local - local wool, local shops, local communities. I am a novice drawer and doodler, my plan is to be better and do my own illustration zine and then hit the road with my wool and bearded Canadian. These are my dreams. Thank you for visiting my blogs.

One comment on “The Clay Purl – Nashville, Indiana

  1. Pingback: A crafter in Chicago – exploring crafts in Chicago in a day | Danni and Charlie do craft

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 13/10/2013 by in Shops, Wool, Yarn and tagged , , , , , , , , .
