Danni and Charlie do craft

Two ladies and a whole lotta wool

Fancy Yarn Fun

Hello crafters,

If you read my Crafty Wish List from Japan post, you’ll be well aware of the huge Avril yarn order I made for my birthday. Well this Sunday afternoon I was finally able to unwrap it all and have a go with it and blimey I was not disappointed!

Avril yarn

I just love the cute little cones they come on and each yarn is so fun and colourful. I couldn’t wait to get started, I’ve been dreaming up lots of plans for this stash!

Firstly I used them to decorate the tops of some bookmarks I’ve been making.

Bookmarks

Combined with some curly mohair yarn they add a really nice texture to the top.

I then started making some brooches using some thickly spun wool as well.

Avril badges

I just love how well this yarn compliments my wool yarns – especially the thicker, rough spun type. It has so many different uses and adds some fun to so many different crafts. I’m particularly interested in adding it to my jewellery designs (see my Avril Yarn Tassle Necklace and my Avril Yarn Bracelet). Expect more creations featuring these yarns soon!

The only problem with Avril yarn is that it has to be ordered from Japan, which can be a little complicated. I haven’t been able to find any fancy yarn in the UK that’s anywhere near as nice but if anyone has any recommendations please do let me know, I just love it!

– Danni

Follow us on:

Bloglovin

Twitter

About hedanni (Danni Haughan)

Hey! I'm the Danni half of the craft blog Danni and Charlie Do Craft. Maker, knitter, traveller who loves a good story & keeping it natural. I have one foot in Europe and the other in E Asia. 我会说一点汉语

Leave a Reply

