Danni and Charlie do craft

Two ladies and a whole lotta wool

Spotlight on: Kate Kelly paper sculptor

I have been crafting. Honest. I went back to my trusty size 12 needles and chunky wool and begun to knit an even trustier snood in moss stitch; the same one I made earlier this year in purple. However, as I’m still smarting from an error in this project which will almost definitely mean an un-doing of the previous doing, I can’t bring myself to write about it in any detail.

So instead I’m going to write about an awesome artist and paper crafter I stumbled upon recently: Kate Kelly of Kaper.

It’s no secret that I’m a big fan of birds, owls have featured on this blog many-a time, and for anyone who loves birds Kate Kelly is an artist you MUST check out.

No only is she a dab hand at paper craft, but is also a kind of engineer. The process Kate describes for creating these 3D sculptures sounds like it may use CAD there somewhere. I love the idea these beautiful creatures popped alive from a sheet of printed paper.

Here are just a few examples of her work, for more head on over to her website:

Kate Kelly mices

Image from Kate’s website Kaper online: woodland creatures

Kate Kelly crows

Image from Kate’s website: Kaper online, birds

Kate Kelly owls

Image from Kate’s website: Kaper online, owls

I just love her work and I’m very tempted to treat myself this Christmas. Speaking of which, you can buy Kate’s wonderful work over on Etsy or keep up-to-date with her on Twitter, follow her blog or like her Facebook.

If anyone knows of any other paper sculptors out there please do let me know in the comments.

Charlie

About thisischarlie

I'm Charlie Parker, one half of the craft duo Danni and Charlie do craft. I love crafting in all its guises, from baking to knitting to growing vegetables (which most definitely IS a craft). I am all about local - local wool, local shops, local communities. I am a novice drawer and doodler, my plan is to be better and do my own illustration zine and then hit the road with my wool and bearded Canadian. These are my dreams. Thank you for visiting my blogs.

2 comments on “Spotlight on: Kate Kelly paper sculptor

  1. Fi
    29/10/2013

    Look at those owls, they are so amazing. I need them in my life! x

  2. Pingback: We’ve launched on Etsy and top gifts for crafters this Christmas – from Etsy and Folksy | Danni and Charlie do craft

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 27/10/2013 by in paper craft, Spotlight on crafters and tagged , , , , , , , .
