Danni and Charlie do craft

Two ladies and a whole lotta wool

Spool Knitted Bangles

Hello crafters,

I hope everyone had a relaxing Christmas and a fab New Year! As I’m supposed to be relaxing my right shoulder I’ve not been able to knit too much, and I’ve found this really frustrating, especially at Christmas time! I bought all the wool for my handmade Christmas presents back in October but then found out I probably wouldn’t be able to knit up what I’d planned – very frustrating. The wool is still sat in a bag looking very sad for itself. It’s been driving me crazy until a chance trip to Ray-Stitch (I  was out buying replacement Christmas presents for all the ones I had intended to make) reintroduced me to an old favourite – the Spool Knitter! I used to have one when I was younger and I spent hours with it, using up all my mum’s yarn. I saw it and I just had to buy it (and one for my crafty friend too). Look how cute it is:

IMG_4804_result

This is much easier on the arms and neck than regular knitting so I’ve been having a lot of fun thinking up things to make with the knitted chord. The most obvious was of course knitted bangles.

IMG_4807_result

I’ve been making them in all sorts of colours using left-over wool from other projects.

IMG_4808_result

I particularly like how the cotton thread knits up and it’s handy too as it’s easy to pop in the wash if they get dirty. If, like me, you need some reminding on how to spool knit, then this handy YouTube tutorial from Needlepointers will help.

Next up, necklaces! Watch this space.

– Danni

About hedanni (Danni Haughan)

Hey! I'm the Danni half of the craft blog Danni and Charlie Do Craft. Maker, knitter, traveller who loves a good story & keeping it natural. I have one foot in Europe and the other in E Asia. 我会说一点汉语

One comment on “Spool Knitted Bangles

  1. Pingback: Quick and Easy Handmade Gifts for Christmas | Danni and Charlie do craft

Leave a Reply

