Danni and Charlie do craft

Two ladies and a whole lotta wool

A quilt’s progress – making a quilt with lovely Liberty fabric

I think I mentioned quite some time ago that I was working on a quilt, or rather I mentioned I was petrified of starting said work on the quilt as I’d planned to make it with this really beautiful Liberty fabric and frankly I was 99% sure there was going to be a crafty disaster at some point. And I wasn’t wrong.

I followed the incredibly useful quilt how to on What Katie Did. This isn’t a patchwork quilt, but a simple and effective way of using beautiful fabric or striking block coloured fabric to great effect.

So here are some pictures of where I’ve got to so far…

What I hadn’t considered was the initial hurdle of sizing the front and backing fabric – I needed to clear (and hoover) a space for this as I was trying to make as close to a double quilt as I could:

Fabric and tape measure

Head scratching and employing my mathetical Canadian was required for this one. And drawing lots of rectangles on scrap paper – that happened too.

This part really did cause me some bamboozlement. With all the drawings, measurements and calculations I eventually just had to bite the bullet, cut the fabric and trust I’d measured correctly:

Fabric for a quilt laid out

My first challenge – making fabrics of different widths and lengths match up for quilting purposes

So, to make my two fabrics work I needed to cut and sew the blue backing:

Blue fabric sewed together

In order to get the front and back fabric to work I had to carefully cut and sew together the blue backing fabric

I also had to cut the wadding, though I didn’t need to see this as it was sandwiched between the other two and then pinned together. This pinning takes a while and it’s important you do it carefully, from the centre outwards:

Charlie on the floor pinning the fabric together

You really do need floor space for this – many, many pins later, the fabrics and wadding were finally sandwiched together

This part was as nerve racking as making the first cuts of the fabric, and things mostly went wrong here. I’m sure it’s mostly my sewing inexperience, but I broke the thread a couple of times and ran out of bobbin. The most time-consuming mistake was when I accidentally sewed the back to itself! It took AGES to unpick – suffice to say I was careful not to repeat that one:

Quilt fabric on the sewing machine

Sewing the first part was a bit nerve racking!

And this is where I’m at now. I confess I’m a little stuck with the edging – another hurdle – but I’m determined to finish as I’m really happy with the result so far. The Liberty fabric is beautiful and I have enough left over to make something else as well:

Quilt in progress draped over sofa

The quilt so far – I’m stuck on the edging.

I’d really recommend the What Katie Did quilt for a beginner quilt if you were thinking of having a go. And, for any seasoned quilt makers reading, if there are any great tips or tutorials for edging I’d love to hear about them in the comments.

– Charlie

About thisischarlie

I'm Charlie Parker, one half of the craft duo Danni and Charlie do craft. I love crafting in all its guises, from baking to knitting to growing vegetables (which most definitely IS a craft). I am all about local - local wool, local shops, local communities. I am a novice drawer and doodler, my plan is to be better and do my own illustration zine and then hit the road with my wool and bearded Canadian. These are my dreams. Thank you for visiting my blogs.

3 comments on “A quilt’s progress – making a quilt with lovely Liberty fabric

  1. It looks great! Can’t wait to see it with the edging

  2. Pingback: It’s crochet blanket time! | Danni and Charlie do craft

  3. Pingback: I’ve finally finished the quilt (well, pretty much anyway) | Danni and Charlie do craft

Leave a Reply

