Danni and Charlie do craft

Two ladies and a whole lotta wool

A Simple Crocheted Cowl

Hello crafters,

One of the things I love about crochet is how easy it is to freestyle once you’ve mastered the basics. As long as you can chain, join (slip stitch), single, double and treble you’re able to create a basic pattern yourself. Maybe it’s just me, but it took a lot longer for me to start creating my own patterns when knitting. With crochet, once I’d followed a couple of patterns I got it enough to start making my own designs. DISCLAIMER: I’m not saying my designs are any good, and they are very simple indeed, but it’s nice to be able to start having a go!

In fact, one of my favourite examples I’m working on right now is a cowl. I love just going into a yarn shop and picking colours that will go together, and in fact it was the yarn that inspired the pattern! I went with Artesano 4 ply which is 100% alpaca as it’s just so soft and I love the colours. Here are the three that caught by eye.

ANEMONE-C986

Anemone

BELIZE-I492

Belize

LIQUORICE-SFN50

Liquorice

For the pattern I’ve literally just crocheted a tube in treble stitch. What do you think?

IMG_4972_result

You just start with a chain of however long you like, join with a slip-stitch and treble into each stitch all the way round. You then join with a slip stitch again, chain three up, and treble round again but in the opposite direction, et Voila!

IMG_4974_result

I think it’s going to be nice and cosy when it’s finished 🙂

– Danni

About hedanni (Danni Haughan)

Hey! I'm the Danni half of the craft blog Danni and Charlie Do Craft. Maker, knitter, traveller who loves a good story & keeping it natural. I have one foot in Europe and the other in E Asia. 我会说一点汉语

2 comments on “A Simple Crocheted Cowl

  1. ingridbolanos
    26/02/2014

    Love the colors. Very pretty cowl.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 26/02/2014 by in Crochet, how to, Wool, Yarn and tagged , , , , , .
