Danni and Charlie do craft

Two ladies and a whole lotta wool

Crafts in Ljubljana, Slovenia

Hello crafters,

I’ve just returned from an amazing week in Slovenia. It was so relaxing! That country has everything that I love – beautiful towns, a rich and interesting history, great food, amazing crafts, BEAUTIFUL countryside, mountains, lakes, bikes, walks, meadows, wild flowers…I could go on and on in a way that only people who’ve just come back from holiday can. What’s more the atmosphere was so pleasant. Everyone was really friendly, no one seemed to be in a massive rush and no one was moody.

photo 1 (1)

Coming back to London was a bit of shock to the system be honest – whilst I love this city, I do find the busyness and the crowding grates on me after a while and I just need a break from all the noise and the people.

photo 2 (1)

If you’re feeling city-fatigued I highly suggest a trip to Ljubljana! It is so beautiful. It’s bustling without being hectic, quiet without being boring, and picturesque without being kitsch. I was so happy there. What’s more, there were plenty of opportunities to feed my craft addiction. First up was the awesome Sunday flea market in the old part of the city. They have so much beautiful table linen in Slovenia, especially as lace is such a big thing there. I picked up these two gorgeous embroidered table decorations for 5 euros each!

photo 4

photo 5

I then went on to check out the wool shops (naturally). First up was Soven which is also in the old town. This shop is just amazing, full of gorgeous wool, handmade knitting needles and loads of felt! It all comes from local Slovenian farmers and is eco-friendly, so naturally I had to treat myself.

photo 1

I then went on to Niti Niti which wasn’t too far away. Not only were there gorgeous yarns in there from all over the world, there were also gorgeous clothes designed and made by the owner. I just love to see the different things people are doing with wool and her creations were just gorgeous. I fell in love with a skirt and these lovely lace jumpers but sadly my budget didn’t stretch that far – maybe next time! You can order online here if you fancy one.

IMG_1627_sweater_yellow_polaroid-475x540

Armed with extra wool and knitting needles, we then moved on to Lake Bohinj in the Julian Alps and the scenery was breath taking. Lots of hiking, biking and picture taking (as well as some crochet and knitting opportunities). I felt like I was in The Sound of  Music!

photo 2

But more on that in the next post 😉

– Danni

 

About hedanni (Danni Haughan)

Hey! I'm the Danni half of the craft blog Danni and Charlie Do Craft. Maker, knitter, traveller who loves a good story & keeping it natural. I have one foot in Europe and the other in E Asia. 我会说一点汉语

7 comments on “Crafts in Ljubljana, Slovenia

  1. lottieknits
    04/05/2014

    Beautiful pictures! I was lucky enough to visit Slovenia (Lake Bled) last September and it is a truly beautiful country. I hope to go back some day 🙂

    • Thank you 🙂 I think I’m going to have to go back next year, I was so sad to leave!

    • Rok
      17/05/2014

      I live in Slovenia! And yes, Slovenia are the most beautiful country in the world! Of course EAST OR WEST HOME IS BEST and in Slovene POVSOD JE LEPO, A DOMA JE NAJLEPŠE!

  2. The Goktor
    14/08/2014

    I’m about to move to Ljubljana (in about 3 weeks); after living in S. Asia for several years, I’ve had no need to knit, so am looking forward to having a good reason to get the needles out this year!

    Thank you so much for the info on knitty shops in what will be my new home for a while!

    • Oh wow I’m so jealous, it’s a really lovely city and the countryside in Slovenia is amazing. I hope you like it.

      I had a look at your awesome blog, you have been to so many exciting places! I’m inspired to go home and try my hand at the Burmese Eggplant Curry 🙂

      • The Goktor
        18/08/2014

        If you do return to Ljubljana for a visit, maybe we could meet up for hot chocolate, cake, and woolly excursions!

        Thank you for your kind words about my blog, I really need to update it more than I do… but then I’m very grateful that it’s work which prevents me!

        Did you try the Burmese curry? I may have to make some this week 🙂

      • That would be lovely! Likewise if you ever find yourself in Luxembourg 🙂

        I haven’t tried to the Burmese curry yet, I’m still finding my way around the shops here and working out where to get more exotic ingredients, but when I do I’ll let you know how it goes!

Leave a Reply

