Danni and Charlie do craft

Two ladies and a whole lotta wool

Crochet Square Fun

Hello crafters,

Apologies for the long silence over here, both me and Charlie have had a lot on recently and we’ve struggled to find the time to share our crafty exploits. However, this week I’ve realised that you must always make time for the things you love – especially if they help you unwind after a long day.

As I’ve been so busy I’ve actually struggled to settle on a project. Sometimes I just want to craft to relax and calm my brain, so I might not necessarily have a project in mind. I’ve found that the best thing for directionless, itchy fingers has to be the humble crochet square (aka the granny square). They are so satisfying to make and so easy. They require a bit of concentration to get it right, but not too much that you need to focus entirely on it. Perfect for a busy mind that needs something relaxing but not too tiring. My good friend Eve taught me how to make a crochet square, but there’s a fantastic tutorial over on Purl Bee for those of you who don’t have a crochet-minded friend to show you.

Crochet square

This afternoon I just really needed to unwind,  so I made myself a  brew, got comfy, put on something to listen to (today it was  the Good Job Brain podcast, it appeals to the Trivial Pursuit geek in me). I then picked out some colours I like from my mountainous stash (it’s Drops Baby Merino if you’re interested), got started and waited to see where it would take me. There are just so many possibilities. What started today as a possible blanket is now going to be a pillow case. What do you think?

Crochet square 2

And the best thing about the humble crochet square – it’s so portable! I’ll be bringing this one with me on my morning commute.

– Danni

About hedanni (Danni Haughan)

Hey! I'm the Danni half of the craft blog Danni and Charlie Do Craft. Maker, knitter, traveller who loves a good story & keeping it natural. I have one foot in Europe and the other in E Asia. 我会说一点汉语

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 26/05/2014 by in Crochet, Crochet pattern and tagged , , , , , , , , .
