Danni and Charlie do craft

Two ladies and a whole lotta wool

It’s crochet blanket time!

Blanket

Every now and then I like to challenge myself with my crafts, otherwise I find I get too comfortable at a certain level and don’t progress. Charlie’s post on her patchwork quilt really inspired me to think big and I’ve decided that it’s about time I embarked on a crochet blanket. Whilst it’s technically not difficult (well not the patterns I’ve been considering anyway!) it’s a huge investment of time so I’ve been doing my research to ensure that I’m as happy as I can be with the pattern I pick. I also want to get the wool right.

I settled on this amazing pattern from Attic 24 for a ripple blanket. It’s really easy to follow as Lucy just explains everything so clearly. She really thinks about the pitfalls you may have when first starting and her pictures are so helpful. I really would suggest trying a sample first to see how you get on with it.  I made several mistakes so I was really glad I did so on my small effort instead of the big blanket.

The other issue of course is the yarn. I’ll admit I’m not completely confident I can pull this off (it’s go go go over here at the mo) so I didn’t want to spend loads of money on the wool. I also wanted it to be washable, 100% wool and in a great variety of colours. I don’t think I ask too much! The solution? Drops yarn! If you haven’t discovered them yet you’re in for a treat. They have an amazing selection of yarns that are great quality at a fraction of the price. I really don’t know how they do it but it’s amazing. Nest, the shop I’ve mentioned before in Crouch End, had a sale on in May with an extra 35% off on their online store, so I just went crazy. I went through all my different options (obviously colour was a big factor) and finally settled on the Extra Fine Merino in Mustard, North Sea and Off-White. It’s DK so nice and comfy but not too chunky. I also got Karisma in orange as it’s the same size and I really liked the colour! What do you think?


Yarn

I can’t wait to show you all the finished product!

– Danni

About hedanni (Danni Haughan)

Hey! I'm the Danni half of the craft blog Danni and Charlie Do Craft. Maker, knitter, traveller who loves a good story & keeping it natural. I have one foot in Europe and the other in E Asia. 我会说一点汉语

3 comments on “It’s crochet blanket time!

  1. Mrs P
    24/06/2014

    Wowee, that is going to be a show stopper, loving the colour combo 🙂

    • Thank you! I’m so glad you like it, I’m really enjoying putting it together but I’m also really excited to see the finished blanket!

  2. Pingback: Making an Apartment Hotel Crafty Cosy | Danni and Charlie do craft

Leave a Reply

