Danni and Charlie do craft

Two ladies and a whole lotta wool

Making an Apartment Hotel Crafty Cosy

Hello crafters,

As you may have read before, I’ve recently moved to Luxembourg and Charlie P is on the road travelling, so lots of change over here! I’m currently staying in an apartment hotel until I can move into the apartment I’m renting, which is really nice but obviously not very “me” (or “us” really as my boyfriend is staying here with me). I could only bring a couple of suitcases with me for these 6 weeks so the rest of my stuff is in storage. As a crafter, I consider yarn, crochets hooks, washi tape and even a mini loom to be basic essentials. With a little crafting and  a few small purchases I think I’ve managed to make this apartment hotel more like a home. So, purchases first. Cute little succulents.

Succulents

I feel like no home is complete without some greenery and as I’m going to being travelling a fair bit I needed some low maintenance plants. Succulents are really trendy at the moment so they were really easy to find. I bought these at a lovely flower market in the centre of Luxembourg – don’t you just love the cute square pots? Obviously I plan to do something a little more exciting with the other pots.

I feel lost without some large bit of multi-purpose blanket and, as I wasn’t expecting it to be quite so cold here, the only fabric I brought was thin cotton. So I popped into town this weekend and found this woolly badboy:

Blanket

OK I admit he’s synthetic, which I really don’t usually go for, but desperate times call for desperate measures and I’m operating on a “we just moved our lives to a new country and we have lots of start-up costs to consider” budget. And he really does the job (is it odd that I’ve made him a “he”?)

Now on to the best bit, the crafted items! No cosy home would be complete without some randomly shaped crochet coasters (The pattern for the circular one is here).

Crochet coasters

Or a pen pot full of an assortment of pens! I never travel anywhere without a few washi tapes in my pencil case (it’s just so useful for so many things), so when I finished the yogurt that was previously in this jar I knew exactly what I should do.

Pen pot

And of course it wouldn’t be home without a load of WIPs dotted around the place! You might have noticed what looks like my knitted hat from my last blog post. Unfortunately the yarn was surprisingly heavy so once I’d finished the hat it stretched to epic proportions! I had to unpick it and start again. Oh well. You may also notice the crocheted blanket from a MUCH earlier post. I really need to finish that blanket…

WIPs

What do you guys do to make hotels cosy? Any tips greatly appreciated!

– Danni

About hedanni (Danni Haughan)

Hey! I'm the Danni half of the craft blog Danni and Charlie Do Craft. Maker, knitter, traveller who loves a good story & keeping it natural. I have one foot in Europe and the other in E Asia. 我会说一点汉语

3 comments on “Making an Apartment Hotel Crafty Cosy

  1. travelknitter
    24/08/2014

    I clearly missed your last post about moving! Luxembourg is one of those places I know nothing about, so I’m looking forward to hearing more about your adventures.

    • Thanks! I must be honest I didn’t know much about it either, but on the plus side it’s making me explore a lot – and there are good craft shops here!

  2. Nirvana
    25/08/2014

    I love it! ♥

Leave a Reply

