Danni and Charlie do craft

Two ladies and a whole lotta wool

Epic craft graffiti in Hong Kong

I promised I would post some more crafty things from my travels, and this one’s a winner. We stumbled upon it, in all its glory, on the way to a brewery in Central, Hong Kong.

The amount of work that must have gone into this crocheted masterpiece astonishes me.

Just take a look for yourself, the photos were at night but we did our best with some improvised lighting. Behold the wonder:

IMG_5392 IMG_5393 IMG_5394 IMG_5395 IMG_5396 IMG_5397 IMG_5398 IMG_5400

I think it’s just brilliant; I spent a significant amount of time admiring and taking photos. We’ve seen a few other bits of craft graffiti, but none quite matches this for sheer ingenuity and delightfulness.

Which one is your favourite? It’s a hard one, but I think the rabbit with the bow tie gets my vote.

– Charlie

About thisischarlie

I'm Charlie Parker, one half of the craft duo Danni and Charlie do craft. I love crafting in all its guises, from baking to knitting to growing vegetables (which most definitely IS a craft). I am all about local - local wool, local shops, local communities. I am a novice drawer and doodler, my plan is to be better and do my own illustration zine and then hit the road with my wool and bearded Canadian. These are my dreams. Thank you for visiting my blogs.

6 comments on “Epic craft graffiti in Hong Kong

  1. raychole
    23/11/2014

    Oh, wow! I’ve never seen yarn bombing with animals attached! So cute! I’d have to say the puppy is my favorite (I mean, just look at that face) with the bunny a close second!

    • thisischarlie
      23/11/2014

      Thanks for your comment Raychole 🙂

      This was a first for me – though there’s a London craft graffiti team that did an awesome knit octopus at the Natural History Museum. I believe a lady named Deadly Knitshade was part of the crew. I didn’t get to see that in person unfortunately. Did you also hear of the lady who crafted a corner shop in London? It was blooming brilliant.

      I was so happy to stumble upon this by accident. I totally agree, the puppy is ridiculously huggable. I really wanted to take them all home, but that would defeat the point somewhat.

      • raychole
        23/11/2014

        No, I didn’t hear about the London shop (that I recall) but I remember seeing a photo of a storefront in Los Angeles that was completely covered. I think it would be fun to do! But, unfortunately, it’s considered vandalism and I don’t want to get arrested. Haha!

  2. Lise
    23/11/2014

    Oh my gosh that is too cute!

  3. This is awesome! I agree the puppy is too cute, especially his floppy ears 🙂

  4. Anonymous
    24/11/2014

    The Grumpy cat at the beginning is wonderful!
    There have been some knitted pieces in different towns. Saltburn by the Sea had Olympic people a couple of years ago, and a sea side one since.

Leave a Reply

