Danni and Charlie do craft

Two ladies and a whole lotta wool

A Quick and Easy Knitted Blanket Pattern

jpeg

Hello crafters and Happy New Year!

I hope everyone enjoyed the break 🙂

Since Christmas began I have been crafting like a fiend, no doubt to make up for all that lost time while I was settling in to my new job and my new life in Luxembourg.

For my friend’s birthday I knit my first ever blanket and I have to confess I was pretty proud of the results, what do you think?

IMG_1928

jpeg-1

jpeg-2

I took inspiration from the Purl Bee’s Eleventh Hour Blanket but as I’d left it too late to order the wool from their site I struck out on my own with what I could find in my local craft shop – Debbie Bliss Roma. I’m not the most amazing knitter so I kept the pattern really simple. You can easily customise it to make it as long and as wide as you want, just cast on more stitches at the beginning (keeping it an odd number though) and add more balls of wool accordingly.

To get started you will need:

5 x balls of Debbie Bliss Roma for main colour

1 x ball of Debbie Bliss Roma in a different colour for the border

1 x pair of 12mm, 100 cm circular needles

12mm crochet hook

Pattern (if you want it the same size as mine)

Cast on 55 stitches

As it’s seed stitch, if you cast on an odd number of stitches it’s *k1, p1, repeat from * then for the last stitch it should be k1. Then do the same for the next row, and the next etc until it’s as long as you want it to be (I used up 5 balls of yarn).

Then cast off.

For the edge, get your wool in the second colour. Join at a corner by drawing through a loop of the yarn, then chain 2. Then UK DC (US SC) into each stitch except at corners, where you DC  three into the one stitch. I realise I didn’t take a pictures of this process (not very helpful!) so if you need some help there’s a useful video on YouTube:

I did two rows of the crochet border but you can add as many as you like – you might need some more wool though!

Now I’ve got a taste for the knitted blankets I might move on to to bigger and bolder things, any ideas?!

– Danni

 

About hedanni (Danni Haughan)

Hey! I'm the Danni half of the craft blog Danni and Charlie Do Craft. Maker, knitter, traveller who loves a good story & keeping it natural. I have one foot in Europe and the other in E Asia. 我会说一点汉语

4 comments on “A Quick and Easy Knitted Blanket Pattern

  1. atangledyarn84
    06/01/2015

    Well done!

  2. thisischarlie
    27/01/2015

    Love this blanket. I need some quicker knits – just for the sheer satisfaction of it all.x
    PS. I just got into the Purl Bee newsletter. Love their patterns. Have you ever bought from them?

    • Thanks my dear! It was very satisfying to have something ready in 3 weeks, though I must admit I was still crocheting the border on the plane to London ha ha! I am in love with Purl Bee patterns too and I really want to buy some yarn but the shipping is pretty pricey (about $24) and of course with import tax it makes it even more for us Europeans. Where are you buying yarn form atm? I just discovered http://www.tangled-yarn.co.uk, love it x

Leave a Reply

