Danni and Charlie do craft

Two ladies and a whole lotta wool

Feeling crafty: 2015 knit and crochet

The wonderfully crafty Danni has been keeping busy on the blog, so I thought it was about time I pulled my woollen weight.

I have loads of posts from travelling in Europe, Russia and Asia – these will come in time (that time is required to wade through thousands of photos) – but for now I have some craft I’ve been getting on with so far this year.

First up, I am finally getting the hang of crochet and while I’m some way off being perfect, at least it looks like crochet stitches this time. This progress is in part thanks to Crochet Workshop, by Erika, and also thanks to YouTube and Danni herself (who talked me through the basics many months ago). Here are my 2015 attempts:

20150127-121657.jpg
20150127-121711.jpg
I’m definitely doing something wacky in the round, so will need to head to YouTube for further advice I think.

Next up – I finally finished the baby blanket. This blanket has travelled with me for the duration of my trip and, frankly, I wondered if I’d ever finish it. I do need to wash and block it (especially the colour work as this is bunching) and it could have been squarer (I messed up on measurements). But, as I made up the pattern I am happy with the results; small and perfectly formed as it is. Here are a couple of pictures, I’ll add the full pattern in more detail soon:

20150127-122034.jpg
20150127-122044.jpg
20150127-122050.jpg
Finally – do you remember the waffle-knit face cloths? They went totally wild on Tumblr (at least 30 reblogs that is). I had one face cloth on the needles for ages and at last I finished it. I already gave the green one to a dear friend who was expecting, these two need new homes to go to as well. It’s one of my favourite patterns:

20150127-122327.jpg
What projects have you been up to this year? Share your links in the comments because I love to have a gander.

– Charlie

About thisischarlie

I'm Charlie Parker, one half of the craft duo Danni and Charlie do craft. I love crafting in all its guises, from baking to knitting to growing vegetables (which most definitely IS a craft). I am all about local - local wool, local shops, local communities. I am a novice drawer and doodler, my plan is to be better and do my own illustration zine and then hit the road with my wool and bearded Canadian. These are my dreams. Thank you for visiting my blogs.

3 comments on “Feeling crafty: 2015 knit and crochet

  1. Mrs P
    27/01/2015

    LOVE the blanket x

    • thisischarlie
      27/01/2015

      @Mrs P – thank you! It was a labour of love and stripes 🙂 x

  2. I’m so happy to see your crochet! You’ll have to bring a hook with you to Luxembourg 🙂 I cannot wait to see these travelling pics x

Leave a Reply

