Danni and Charlie do craft

Two ladies and a whole lotta wool

Flying with Crochet and Knitting Projects

Hello crafters,

This year isn’t showing any signs of being less hectic than the last so I’m struggling to find moments of peace and quiet where I can just craft a while. At the moment I’m kind of confined to the time just before bed when I’m winding down, or when I’m in transit. I travel a fair bit with work, as well as with my free time, so I’ve become quite good at finding projects and tools that work on a plane.

IMG_0065

For crochet my travel kit includes:

– Plastic or wooden crochet hooks (I personally prefer wood as I worry about things that don’t degrade for crazy numbers of years).

– Dental floss (to cut the yarn)

– Project bag (to keep it all together)

– Notebook (for essential pattern info)

Project-wise, I keep to something small like a hat or granny squares.

IMG_0064

With knitting it’s less clear. I’ve only been in one airport that wouldn’t allow them through security (Ljubljana in Slovenia if you’re interested), and luckily I always check the airport website before I fly so I’d packed them in my main luggage, but I also know it’s largely at the discretion of the airport security team. So even if Heathrow say it’s fine, the security guys checking your hand luggage might take a different view.

So I opt for the least threatening knitting needles I own, my detachable, circular wooden needles. This may be unnecessary, but I detach the needles and put them in my pencil case. I then use the stoppers to save the project. This prevents the needles getting broken in my bag and also makes them look less weird in the scanner. Seems to work fine for me.

I hope that helps any crafters in transit, but please do share your traveller tips in the comments so we can help more crafters make on the go.

– Danni

About hedanni (Danni Haughan)

Hey! I'm the Danni half of the craft blog Danni and Charlie Do Craft. Maker, knitter, traveller who loves a good story & keeping it natural. I have one foot in Europe and the other in E Asia. 我会说一点汉语

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 01/03/2015 by in Craft kit, Crochet and tagged , , , , , , , .
