Danni and Charlie do craft

Two ladies and a whole lotta wool

FibreShare

Proud-member-of-fibreshare-badge

Hey crafters,

I just love looking at Instagram for inspiration, but I also love it for connecting with other makers all over the world. I know it comes under a lot of fire for being a place of unreal lives and unrealistic expectations, but it really depends on who you follow. The crafters and creators that I’ve found on there have been wonderful, and there are a lot of different communities sprouting up whose aim is to encourage and support new makers.

The guys at FibreShare are a great example. Their feed is just generally full of fibre-based awesomeness, but they also organise a fibre swap every few months. It’s super simple to join in and costs either $5  or $7 depending on your membership level. You get paired with two other fibre-lovers, often based on your preferences and your craft. One partner sends you a package, and you send a package to the other. I did it for the first time in October and it was great! I connected with the super talented knitter @Crini23 in Germany, and the super talented weaver @thenorthernneedle in the US. As I’m based in Luxembourg and I travel a lot I’ve found it hard to meet other weavers/knitter/crocheters, so it’s great to be part of this awesome online community.

Here’s the lovely package I received from @Crini23:

IMG_6436

It was full of a gorgeous yarn for weaving with, and even a circular loom! I’d never used one before so it was a really exciting treat. Every yarn came with a little explanation and the postcard had a lovely message. It was such a thoughtful package!

And I have to say it’s just as much fun putting them together as receiving them. You get a little profile of the person you’re sending to, and you can investigate their Instagram for more inspiration. I really enjoyed thinking about what my recipient would like and what I could add from Europe. Here’s the final package I sent to @thenorthernneedle:

IMG_6428

I knew she liked art yarns and natural fibres so I thought she might like to give spinning a go. To make it more personal I made the drop spindle myself. I used a dowel rod and a toy wheel and then made a point at the end and added a hook at the top. It was my first attempt so I hope it was ok! I included some of my favourite British fibres, including some Bluefaced Leicester yarn and some Wensleydale locks. As well as some alpaca because who doesn’t love that?!

If you are into fibre I cannot recommend FibreShare enough. There is currently a swap under way, but if you follow them on Instagram you can keep your eye out for the next one!

Danni ( (HeDanni on Instagram)

About hedanni (Danni Haughan)

Hey! I'm the Danni half of the craft blog Danni and Charlie Do Craft. Maker, knitter, traveller who loves a good story & keeping it natural. I have one foot in Europe and the other in E Asia. 我会说一点汉语

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 14/02/2016 by in Danni and Charlie recommend, Wool, Yarn and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .

Navigation

